TimeLapse for Mac

 

NOTE: This mac software is available for free on my bitbucket.org/wrossmck and has been tested on Lion & Mountain Lion versions of OS X.

 

So, it was St.Patrick’s weekend there, and I was trying to get some college work done, when Grant mentioned in a tweet about making a timelapse of creating some Art. He was using an art program called Hexels, which is really cool, and you should check it out! Timelapses offer the viewer an insight into what time is spent on what part of a particular project. I was interested in making it work on my Mac. So I did.

I have always been interested in making timelapses of some of the programs I make. It’s interesting to see just how much time is spent on facebook, and how little time is actually spent coding, if nothing else!

Then I saw the video he posted, and decided that was the last straw! I was going to set up my laptop for timelapsing. There was no way around it.

I’d tried using programs to capture video at a slow rate, and feed the screen into iMovie, but that all seemed too much trouble, plus I couldn’t get it to actually work!

Screen Shot 2013-03-17 at 23.52.28

CamTwist – useful for redirecting screen video as a video source

I already take screenshots for things pretty much all the time, on a mac, it’s really easy (just cmd + <shift> + 3). So I figured I’d investigate exactly what I could do. In no time at all, I had a terminal script taking screenshots every X seconds. pretty nice for a few minutes work.

After a few hours of committing to bitbucket.org (a totally free, and really good, code version control service), I decided to make the code publicly available, since, well… why not! There are instructions up there on how I got it working, and I’ll hopefully update it and improve on it. For now, it works. It’s by no means pretty, but it *does* do the job. and it’s very lightweight on resources.

Here is a video of it working!

One thought on “TimeLapse for Mac

Leave a Reply

